A/N: I don’t really know what this is, to be honest, I don’t even know if I like it. But it’s different from what I usually write so I thought because of that it might be worth posting. As I’ve said, I do a lot of experiments with my writing lately, just to sort of see what I can do and not just keep to simple things. Interpret this how you like, I have something in mind for these characters for the future. I don’t know if this scene will be incorporated, but I like how these characters are in my mind and I’m actually thinking of writing a fantasy story around them. More on that later, though. Thanks, whoever you are, for reading my blog =)

Jess looked around the room awkwardly, holding a cider in her hand when suddenly a girl appeared next to her.

“Hi,” she said.

“Erm, hi,” Jess answered, surprised and not used to people initiating conversations with her.

“You enjoying the party, then?” The girl asked, friendly and inquisitive.

“Yeah, sure,” Jess said, apparently not too convincingly because the girl gave her a look that told her she didn’t believe her. “No, not really,” she conceded. “Parties aren’t really my thing.”

“No, mine neither. I’m Riley,” she said, offering her hand for Jess to shake.

“Jess,” Jess paused and looked at the woman she was facing. She was older than her – maybe a year or two – had short, dark blonde hair, a piercing through her eyebrow and a grey band t-shirt(Black Sabbath). That’s how Jess noticed people. Little, scattered things about them that caught her attention. It wouldn’t be until later, when they were stood on the balcony away from the people inside, that she noticed her burgundy slim jeans and the tattoo on her left  collarbone that she couldn’t make out the exact shape of in the relative darkness.

“So why are you here if you don’t like parties?” Riley asked her, above the noise of the music they were playing.

Jess smiled. “Half my class is here, they kind of dragged me,” she confessed.

“Oh, I know the feeling,” Riley said, taking a sip of her beer. Then she seemed to realise something. “Oh, so you’re in Robbie’s class then?”

“Yeah, why?”

“I’m his big sister,” Riley smiled, and that was when Jess noticed her piercing cheekbones.

“Oh, okay,” Jess said, slightly surprised. Although she could see the similarities between her artistic classmate and the girl in front of her. “How old are you, then?” She asked, feeling a little lame. She didn’t really know the rules of conversation in a situation like this. She didn’t even know what sort of situation it was.

“I’m 19,” Riley said, and looked around her as somebody raised the volume of the music. “You want to go outside?” she half-shouted, leaning into Jess. To make her voice carry, no doubt.

On the inside Jess was shocked, intrigued, and a little bit scared. Maybe it was that kind of a situation. Despite herself, she was excited. She said yes, and let herself be led through the house, Riley’s hand always touching some part of her, casually, as if they had been friends for years. The hand eventually landed on the small of Jess’ back, as Riley had closed the door to the balcony.

“I hope I’m not being too forward,” Riley said, and Jess’ heart skipped a beat. Or several.

“No, no, course not,” she heard herself say even though she wasn’t sure at all.

This was when Jess noticed the warmth radiating off the girl in front of her, and how much taller she was, since they were standing so close together. Riley looked into her eyes, not moving a muscle. The moment intensified.

This was when Jess noticed herself, standing on the other end of the balcony, a ghostly pressure on her lips.

